Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

[50F] Elemental Protection

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tavis
Heroic


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 1015
Location: Macclesfield UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:23 pm    Post subject: [50F] Elemental Protection Reply with quote

The trappings for Elemental Protection (air) state that the character can breathe without air, in poison gas etc.

Does this imply therefore that an Air mage with Elemental Protection can breathe underwater, or is that the sole domain of Water mages?

I would surmise that the Water mage would also get the benefit of not needing to use Swimming to move around in the water, not be affected by pressure from depth, suffer from the bends etc. whereas all of those would still be a problem for the Air mage that 'just' gets the benefit of being able to breathe.

I'm certainly able to make a call on it as a GM, but I'm curious as to what the official answer is nonetheless.
_________________
Currently Playing:

SWD: 50 Fathoms (GM)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18039

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:23 pm    Post subject: Re: [50F] Elemental Protection Reply with quote

Tavis wrote:
The trappings for Elemental Protection (air) state that the character can breathe without air, in poison gas etc.

Does this imply therefore that an Air mage with Elemental Protection can breathe underwater, or is that the sole domain of Water mages?

I would surmise that the Water mage would also get the benefit of not needing to use Swimming to move around in the water, not be affected by pressure from depth, suffer from the bends etc. whereas all of those would still be a problem for the Air mage that 'just' gets the benefit of being able to breathe.


As the power notes in the beginning, "The mage is only protected against the effects of his element..."

So an Air mage couldn't really "breathe underwater" since that's protection from the environment of water, not air. However, a GM might allow an air mage to "hold their breath" indefinitely while under the effect of the power. It would mean in addition to all the other effects of being underwater, that the subject could not speak as well (which would preclude spellcasting).
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum