Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Does Florentine Require Wielding two Weapons?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Thunderforge
Veteran


Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 950

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 8:13 pm    Post subject: Does Florentine Require Wielding two Weapons? Reply with quote

The description for the Florentine Edge is as follows:
Quote:
A character trained to fight “Florentine” is a master at wielding two weapons at once. He adds +1 to his Fighting rolls versus an opponent with a single weapon and no shield. In addition, opponents subtract 1 from any “gang up” bonuses they would normally get against the fighter as his two flashing blades parry their blows.

Although the first sentence says that the character is a master at wielding two weapons, there isn't an explicit statement that two weapons are required to get the benefit. Does this mean that you could use a sword in one hand and your bare fist in the other to get the benefit (i.e. only be wielding one weapon)?

Moreover, the last few words suggest that they have to be bladed weapons (thus you couldn't do a sword and pistol), but again, it's not explicitly stated. I would think that maybe it's implied that you have to have two blades.

To further the confusion, the Edge summary table says the Edge provides "+1 vs. foes with single weapon and no shield; ignore 1 point of gang up bonus", saying nothing about requiring two weapons or the type of the weapon, implying it's on all the time (two weapons, one weapon + fist, or two fisted).

The spirit of the Edge seems to suggest that two bladed weapons are necessary, but I just don't see the words of the Edge explicitly saying it. How exactly is it supposed to work?
_________________
Wild Card Creator: Any PDF. Any Setting. No Extra Cost.

The Elder Scrolls conversion and other fun creations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18036

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:58 am    Post subject: Re: Does Florentine Require Wielding two Weapons? Reply with quote

Thunderforge wrote:
The description for the Florentine Edge is as follows:
Quote:
A character trained to fight “Florentine” is a master at wielding two weapons at once. He adds +1 to his Fighting rolls versus an opponent with a single weapon and no shield. In addition, opponents subtract 1 from any “gang up” bonuses they would normally get against the fighter as his two flashing blades parry their blows.

Although the first sentence says that the character is a master at wielding two weapons, there isn't an explicit statement that two weapons are required to get the benefit. Does this mean that you could use a sword in one hand and your bare fist in the other to get the benefit (i.e. only be wielding one weapon)?

Moreover, the last few words suggest that they have to be bladed weapons (thus you couldn't do a sword and pistol), but again, it's not explicitly stated. I would think that maybe it's implied that you have to have two blades.

To further the confusion, the Edge summary table says the Edge provides "+1 vs. foes with single weapon and no shield; ignore 1 point of gang up bonus", saying nothing about requiring two weapons or the type of the weapon, implying it's on all the time (two weapons, one weapon + fist, or two fisted).

The spirit of the Edge seems to suggest that two bladed weapons are necessary, but I just don't see the words of the Edge explicitly saying it. How exactly is it supposed to work?


The character has to be wielding two weapons at once. It doesn't really matter what those weapons are (including the potential for an improvised weapon). Obviously, the bonus to Fighting only applies to Fighting, so a character with a pistol in one of their hands would not get the bonus to Shooting.

A character with Martial Artist could consider their unarmed attacks as weapons for purposes of the Edge since they are never considered "unarmed."
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum