Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question on Burst and Extras

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Volt875
Seasoned


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:50 pm    Post subject: Question on Burst and Extras Reply with quote

Greetings again Clint, just a few of questions this time.

With the SWD edition the AoE damage is now rolled once for each group of extras and AoE attacks also gain the +d6 damage on a raise.

So my question is if a bunch of extras get caught in a Wizard's Burst attack do they each get a roll to dodge? If so how is the extra d6 damage on a raise handled as it's an opposed roll, further spilt the group of extras to ones who got hit with the raise and ones who didn't?

I was also wondering if I just changed it to being the Wizards casting roll determined the extra damage if that would really unbalance anything.
_________________
"...If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. But sad or merry, I must leave it now. Farewell!"- Thorin Oakenshield; The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17819

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:33 am    Post subject: Re: Question on Burst and Extras Reply with quote

Volt875 wrote:
So my question is if a bunch of extras get caught in a Wizard's Burst attack do they each get a roll to dodge?


Yep.

Volt875 wrote:
If so how is the extra d6 damage on a raise handled as it's an opposed roll, further spilt the group of extras to ones who got hit with the raise and ones who didn't?


Yep, roll base damage for the ones who got hit normally and then add an extra d6 for the the ones hit with a raise..

Volt875 wrote:
I was also wondering if I just changed it to being the Wizards casting roll determined the extra damage if that would really unbalance anything.


That's a question on making a house rule, so it would need to be in another topic for discussion, but in short, yes, if that's the only change, then making it easier for the caster to get a raise on his targets will of course make the power more effective.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum