Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

He boldy ran away Sir Robin, Sir Robin...or did he?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Volt875
Seasoned


Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 4:42 pm    Post subject: He boldy ran away Sir Robin, Sir Robin...or did he? Reply with quote

Greetings Clint, I have a few questions about withdrawing from melee.
1) It says that when you withdraw from melee you can do no other actions other than defend, so that means it would be an illegal move to attack and then withdraw correct?
1a) So if that is correct does that also mean if wielding two weapons with a pace of 6 moving 3, attacking a target then breaking off and moving another 2 to attack a different target would be an illegal move?

2) When you withdraw from melee everyone adjacent to you gets a free swipe. Does this mean if you have a reach weapon and the enemy does not your virtually immune to the free attack as you do not leave melee until your 1 inch away?

The first one came up because a certian someone WHO SHALL REMAIN NAMELESS took extraction and first strike and that's how I'll believe he'll use the combo. Much like the whole free attacks with the spiked chain combo from another game.
_________________
"...If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. But sad or merry, I must leave it now. Farewell!"- Thorin Oakenshield; The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18049

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:17 am    Post subject: Re: He boldy ran away Sir Robin, Sir Robin...or did he? Reply with quote

Volt875 wrote:
1) It says that when you withdraw from melee you can do no other actions other than defend, so that means it would be an illegal move to attack and then withdraw correct?


Nope, because the rules do not say you can do no other actions other than Defend when you withdraw.

The rules state a character "may" Defend if they want, and by the definition of Defend, they could not perform other actions if they choose that option. A character could choose other other actions, but unless all adjacent foes are Shaken, they will still face attacks for withdrawing when they move.

Volt875 wrote:
1a) So if that is correct does that also mean if wielding two weapons with a pace of 6 moving 3, attacking a target then breaking off and moving another 2 to attack a different target would be an illegal move?


It would not be illegal, but as noted above, unless the first attack causes a Shaken on the foe (and it isn't removed with a Benny) that foe would still get a free attack when the attacker moves away and before the second one is resolved.

Volt875 wrote:
2) When you withdraw from melee everyone adjacent to you gets a free swipe. Does this mean if you have a reach weapon and the enemy does not your virtually immune to the free attack as you do not leave melee until your 1 inch away?


Not unless the character started their action 1" away. All actions on a turn are considered to occur almost simultaneously. So if in the course of a single turn, a character withdraws from melee from an adjacent opponent, that opponent will get a free attack.

So if the character with a Reach 1 weapon is adjacent to a foe and he moves more than 1" away from that foe in a single turn, that foe will get a free attack.

Now, if a character with a Reach weapon wanted to only move back 1" in that turn, they could since they are not withdrawing from melee. And if they further were able to act before their opponent could move adjacent to them again, they could on a separate turn withdraw from melee without suffering a free attack since their foe is not adjacent to them.

But if they fulfill both criteria (start adjacent and leave melee) in a single turn against foes who are not Shaken, they will be attacked.

Hope that helps.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum