Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Skills beyond a d12 and the wild die

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yynderjohn
Novice


Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 85

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:12 pm    Post subject: Skills beyond a d12 and the wild die Reply with quote

Clint,
Do skills above a d12 add the bonus to the wild die as well or is it calculated seperately?

Example:
Buff guy is a wild card with a d12+2 fighting.

He rolls the dice and gets a 7 on the d12 and a 4 on the d6. Does the +2 bonus only affect the d12 (making it a 9) or does it act as a modifier and affect the wild die as well?

So either the roll is a
1. 9 and a 4
or
2. 9 and a 6.

This is the first time I've run a character with more than a d12 skill.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 17863

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Skills beyond a d12 and the wild die Reply with quote

yynderjohn wrote:
Clint,
Do skills above a d12 add the bonus to the wild die as well or is it calculated seperately?

Example:
Buff guy is a wild card with a d12+2 fighting.

He rolls the dice and gets a 7 on the d12 and a 4 on the d6. Does the +2 bonus only affect the d12 (making it a 9) or does it act as a modifier and affect the wild die as well?


It is a modifier, and it works like any modifier in the system. And all modifiers apply to the higher die result whether it is the Trait die or the Wild Die, without exception.

In short, Wild Cards apply all bonuses and penalties to whichever die is highest in a Trait roll for the final result.

So in the above the end total would be 9, and if the rolls were reversed with a 4 on the d12 and a 7 on the d6, then the final result would still be a total of 9.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum