Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

AB:Supers/Chi and maintaining/disruption, Wall Walking, Fly

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Matchstickman
Novice


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:06 pm    Post subject: AB:Supers/Chi and maintaining/disruption, Wall Walking, Fly Reply with quote

How does AB:superpowers deal with maintaining powers?
Given each power has its own skill does maintaining the armour power incur a penalty to using other power's skills or does the -1 just apply to using the armour skill again?

Also, how does AB:superpowers deal with disrupting powers?
The rules say to "make one opposed arcane skill roll versus the damage he suffered" if you are maintaining powers and take damage, which skill does the superhero roll on if maintaining multiple powers?

And does both of those answers also apply to the Chi masters in DL:R?


Does the doubling of power points for the Fly spell also count for maintaining it? i.e. would it cost 2 per round rather than 1


The Wall Walking spell allows you to 'climb' surfaces at half your pace, how does that work when combined with ordinary movement? If you move to the wall and then start to climb it how do you determine how far up the wall you get? Does it essentially mean that for every 1" you move up the wall it takes 2" from your 'regular' movement or are they separate movement values (6" regular and 3" 'climb' per turn)? Or can you not 'climb' in the same round you move along a regular surface?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18048

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:19 am    Post subject: Re: AB:Supers/Chi and maintaining/disruption, Wall Walking, Reply with quote

Matchstickman wrote:
How does AB:superpowers deal with maintaining powers?
Given each power has its own skill does maintaining the armour power incur a penalty to using other power's skills or does the -1 just apply to using the armour skill again?


Correct, the penalty would just apply to repeated use of the same power as it only affects that arcane skill.

Matchstickman wrote:
Also, how does AB:superpowers deal with disrupting powers?
The rules say to "make one opposed arcane skill roll versus the damage he suffered" if you are maintaining powers and take damage, which skill does the superhero roll on if maintaining multiple powers?


He would have to roll each skill for each power individually since they don't all use the same skill.

Matchstickman wrote:
And does both of those answers also apply to the Chi masters in DL:R?


As noted in the description of that AB, barring the listed exceptions, Chi Mastery "works exactly as Arcane Background (Super Powers) is described in the Savage Worlds rulebook." Since neither of the above are affected by the exceptions, they work the same.

Matchstickman wrote:
Does the doubling of power points for the Fly spell also count for maintaining it? i.e. would it cost 2 per round rather than 1


Nope, it just increases the base cost.

Matchstickman wrote:
The Wall Walking spell allows you to 'climb' surfaces at half your pace, how does that work when combined with ordinary movement? If you move to the wall and then start to climb it how do you determine how far up the wall you get? Does it essentially mean that for every 1" you move up the wall it takes 2" from your 'regular' movement...


You nailed it; it would work the same as Difficult Ground where each 1" of movement counts as 2" of Pace. The only other limit (for a success to use) being that it can't be combined with running, so if the character ran in the same action, they couldn't use Wall Walker as well.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum