Username:    Password:      Remember me       
Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group
Discussion Forum for PEG/GWG
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Jack of All Trades questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
obryn
Novice


Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:04 pm    Post subject: Jack of All Trades questions Reply with quote

So our first session went splendidly. Thanks for your help! The car chase rules worked great, though my Tcho-Tchos failed nearly every. single. driving. roll. except one. And then they failed the "try not to fall into that road construction because you pulled a four of clubs" one. Smile

Now I have a question about Jack of All Trades.

Does this basically mean the PC can use all Knowledge skills (law, science, zoology, south american architecture, etc.) as well as using a base-level d4 for stuff like Investigate, Notice, Tracking, Survival, Heal, and the like?

I get the difference between "not having a -2 penalty to untrained use" and "actually having a d4 in the skill" for advancement purposes and for assisting other characters, but I just want to verify!

-O[/i]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clint
Site Admin


Joined: 13 May 2003
Posts: 18132

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Jack of All Trades questions Reply with quote

obryn wrote:
Now I have a question about Jack of All Trades.

Does this basically mean the PC can use all Knowledge skills (law, science, zoology, south american architecture, etc.) as well as using a base-level d4 for stuff like Investigate, Notice, Tracking, Survival, Heal, and the like?

I get the difference between "not having a -2 penalty to untrained use" and "actually having a d4 in the skill" for advancement purposes and for assisting other characters, but I just want to verify!


All aspects of Unskilled Attempts apply, which also includes the GM not allowing a roll at all if the character would not be trained in it. So unless the character's background reflects a knowledge of South American architecture, they likely won't get a roll (like any other unskilled character).

It would likely apply with the other skills, but even then there could be a difference based on specific use, such as between a Healing roll to bandage a wound and one to counter poison for instance.
_________________
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Great White Games/Pinnacle Entertainment Group Forum Index -> Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum